Home > Uncategorized > Add Dell 1320c Printer to Ubuntu

Add Dell 1320c Printer to Ubuntu

For the last few weeks I have been using Ubuntu rather than Windows and prefer it when I want to quickly view something, boots up much faster on my PC and netbook.  But the downside was I could not get my Dell 1320c printer to work but I have now found a solution.

1. First download and install this file.

2. In Ubuntu go to System > Administration > Printing

3. Click on the Add button and expand the Network Printer selection:

4. If you have already setup your printer on the network you will see the printer in the list, select the printer and click Forward.  If you have not setup the printer you will have to enter the IP address of the printer in the box in the following format – socket://192.168.1.1

5. Choose the driver which will be the FX driver you installed previously, so select FX > DocuPrint C525A.

6. Select the Memory Capacity to be 64MB and the Optional Tray Module as 250 Sheet Feeder.

7. Name the printer Dell1320c and enter the optional information if you want, click Apply.

8. Right-click on the printer and go to Properties > Printer Options under the Basic settings change the Paper Source to Tray 1:

Now you should have a working Dell 1320c printer on Ubuntu.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. Matthew
    21/10/2010 at 2:06 am | #1

    Hi,

    I have been trying for ages to get my Dell 1320c to work with Ubuntu – so thanks for you post… I found out that the Fuji DocuPrint drivers were supposed to work with the Dell 1320c but could never get it to work… I have a quick question for you though, you say “If you have not setup the printer you will have to enter the IP address of the printer in the box in the following format – socket://192.168.1.1″ I then assume that you have the network adapter for the printer (which makes it a 1320cn :) ) – I do not have the network adapter – do you know a way I can set it up on the usb port?

    cheers,

    Matt

  2. 26/10/2010 at 5:50 am | #2

    As I’ve been reading your post for the quarter of hour, and it all has been really informative and well written. I’ve been researching the internet for quite sometime trying to find good advice about how one can use printer on Linux operating System. I’ve bookmarked this site and I’ll be back. Good site!

    Stuart

    • admin
      27/10/2010 at 8:29 pm | #3

      Thanks for the support, I am always trying to add useful info to the site when I have time.

  3. David
    31/12/2010 at 12:28 am | #4

    I tried several of the recommended fixes to getting my 1320c to work – however, your actually worked and was understandable to a relative novice. Thank you for your post!

  4. 04/05/2011 at 5:05 am | #5

    Thanks for that! UBUNTU 11.04 It was peculiar that when I I first installed a late pre-release of Ubuntu 11.04 on a notebook all my four laser printers installed without issue. However when I got the just released 11.04 about a week later and installed it on another PC I could not install the DELL1320c (or a Samsung SCX4x28) which were okay before. (Now to tackle the Samsung SCX4x28).

  5. 02/07/2011 at 12:39 pm | #6

    Thank you.
    I had spent ages trying to get this to work.
    Great instructions in plain English!
    Thanks

  6. 14/09/2011 at 7:08 am | #7

    I’m definitely pleased with the writing skills in addition to with the structure on your site. Is this a paid theme or did you personalize it all by yourself? In either case continue the excellent good quality writing, it’s actually uncommon to discover an excellent blog like this one today..

  7. 28/04/2012 at 5:13 pm | #8

    Hi, Fantastic… I had spent ages trying to get this printer to work using other instructions, however your instruction about “Paper Source to Tray 1″ was the key. Many thanks

  8. Lyndsay
    11/04/2013 at 5:20 pm | #9

    Thank you very much, we have just gotten ours going following your instructions.

  9. Bert
    28/05/2013 at 12:02 pm | #10

    Hi there

    I am quite new to the linux world but am enjoying the challenge. Thanks for this article as the printer works great.

  1. 03/07/2010 at 7:58 pm | #1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

